Lyonel Feininger

Lyonel Feininger was born on 17 July 1871 in New York. In 1887, he travelled to Germany to study music, but then spontaneously decided to become a draughtsman. Feininger attended a school of general vocational education in Hamburg, then later the Berlin Academy of Arts. Several stays in Paris. Rise to become one of the most sought-after caricaturists in Germany.

His 1901 marriage to Clara Fürst led to the births of Lore (1901–1991) and Marianne (1902–1999). In 1907, Feininger married the artist Julia Berg. This marriage led to the births of Andreas (1906–1999), Laurence (1909–1976) and Theodore Lux (1910–2011).

From 1905, Feininger turned towards printmaking, and in 1907 towards painting. Within just a few years, he became one of the most important representatives of modernism, presenting his works along with “Blue Rider” artists at the 1913 first German Autumn Salon at the Berlin gallery “Der Sturm”. His first solo exhibition followed there in 1917.

In 1917, the family spent the summer in Braunlage (in the Harz region), where Feininger developed his magnificent body of woodcut works. In 1919, Walter Gropius appointed him to a chair at the Bauhaus, where Feininger became a master of Formlehre, the theory of form, and, from 1920, also took over the printing workshop. The climax of his artistic success was the 1932 retrospective in Berlin's Kronprinzenpalais marking Feininger's 60th birthday.

After the dissolution of the Bauhaus in 1932 and the seizure of power by the Nazis in 1933, in 1937 the Feiningers moved to the USA, where the artist created his late works before his death on 13 January 1956 in New York.

Lyonel Feininger

Lyonel Feininger wurde am 17. Juli 1871 in New York geboren. 1887 Reise nach Deutschland, um Musik zu studieren. Spontane Entscheidung, doch Zeichner zu werden. Besuch der Allgemeinen Gewerbeschule in Hamburg, später der Kunstakademie zu Berlin. Mehrfache Aufenthalte in Paris. Aufstieg zu einem der gefragtesten Karikaturisten Deutschlands.

Während der 1901 geschlossenen Ehe mit Clara Fürst wurden Lore (1901–1991) und Marianne (1902–1999) geboren. 1907 heiratete Feininger die Künstlerin Julia Berg. Aus dieser Ehe gingen Andreas (1906–1999), Laurence (1909–1976) und Theodore Lux (1910–2011) hervor.

Ab 1905 Hinwendung zur Druckgrafik, ab 1907 Übergang zur Malerei. In wenigen Jahren emanzipierte sich Feininger zu einem der wichtigsten Vertreter der Moderne. So stellte er 1913 im „Ersten Deutschen Herbstsalon“ der Berliner Galerie „Der Sturm“ gemeinsam mit Künstlern des „Blauen Reiter“ aus. 1917 folgte dort seine erste Einzelausstellung.

1917 verbrachte die Familie den Sommer in Braunlage (Harz). Hier legte Feininger sein grandioses Holzschnittwerk an. 1919 berief Walter Gropius ihn ans Bauhaus, wo Feininger „Meister der Formlehre“ wurde und ab 1920 auch die Druckwerkstatt übernahm. Höhepunkt seines künstlerischen Erfolgs war die Retrospektive zu Feiningers 60. Geburtstag im Berliner Kronprinzenpalais 1932.

Nach Auflösung des Bauhauses 1932 und der Machtergreifung der Nazis 1933 übersiedelten die Feiningers 1937 in die USA. Dort entfaltete der Künstler sein Spätwerk. Lyonel Feininger starb am 13. Januar 1956 in New York.